Party Leader: Jamie Baillie
Founded: 1867
Current Number of Seats: 10


The Progressive Conservative Association of Nova Scotia was founded in 1867. The party originated from the Confederation Party, created by Charles Tupper. Tupper served as Nova Scotia premier from 1864 to 1867, and as prime minister in 1896.

Confederation was unpopular in Nova Scotia, and the PC only won three elections between 1867 and 1956.

The modern Progressive Conservative Party took form after the Second World War. Robert Stanfield became leader in 1948, and the PC won consecutive elections in 1956, 1960, 1963 and 1967. Stanfield stepped down in 1967 to become leader of the federal Progressive Conservatives and the leader of the official opposition in the House of Commons.

The party returned to power in 1978 under the leadership of John Buchanan. Buchanan won four straight majority governments before retiring in 1990. Roger Stuart Bacon replaced Buchanan as interim premier from 1990 to 1991, and Donald W. Cameron became the new leader and served as premier from 1991 to 1993.

The party lost elections in 1993 and 1998, but returned to office in 1999 under the leadership of John Hamm. Hamm won a minority government in 2003 and retired in 2005. Hamm was replaced by Rodney MacDonald in 2006. MacDonald won the 2006 election, but was defeated by Darrell Dexter in 2009.

In 2010 Jamie Baillie became the new leader of the Nova Scotia PC Party. In the 2013 election Baillie was re-elected to his seat in the Cumberland South riding and his party won 11 seats. This made Baillie and the Nova Scotia PC Party the Official Opposition to the Liberals.