Student Vote Day

Student Vote Day will take place on Monday, October 30 – the same day as the general election. Students across Nunavut will take on the roles of deputy returning officers and poll clerks, and organize a vote using authentic election materials. The ballots are counted by each school and reported to CIVIX confidentially.

The Student Vote results are released publicly by CIVIX on election night and shared with the media for broadcast and publication.

Materials

Registered schools will receive a Student Vote Election Manual, ballot boxes, voting screens and ballots.

The Student Vote Election Manual [PDF] is intended to help guide you through Student Vote Day. You will find suggestions on how to operate the parallel election within your school and guidelines for reporting your results. There are several methods for running Student Vote Day at your school, but in all instances, widespread participation is strongly recommended. By practicing now, students will be more inclined and prepared to participate in the future.

Submitting Your Results

Please ensure you report your results by 6 p.m. Eastern time, 5 p.m. Central Time or 4 p.m. Mountain Time on October 30.

Adhering to the reporting deadline is necessary in order for CIVIX to include your school’s totals in the final results shared with media for release on election night.

All schools must keep their Student Vote results confidential until after the close of the official polls. Election officers should be sworn to secrecy.

Past Results