Green Party of Alberta

Party Leader: Cheryle Chagnon-Greyeyes
Founded: 2011


Affiliated with the Green Party of Canada, the Green Party of Alberta has operated in the province since 1986 and received as much as 9 per cent of the popular vote (but never won a seat in the Alberta Legislature).

The party dissolved in 2009 after it failed to file an annual financial statement with Elections Alberta, as required by law.

In the absence of the Green Party, an independent group based on green principles, the Vision 2012 Society, registered the new EverGreen Party for the 2012 provincial election.

During the 2012 election, The EverGreen Party ran 25 candidates and earned 0.39 per cent of the popular vote. In the same year, the EverGreen Party changed its name to Green Party of Alberta and was led by Janet Keeping from 2012-2017.

She was succeeded by Romy Tittel from November 2017 until March 2018, when Tittel stepped down from her leadership role without explanation. The party then appointed interim leader Coral Bliss Taylor until the leadership election in September 2018, when Cheryle Chagnon-Greyeyes was chosen as the new leader of the Green Party of Alberta.