More than 170,000 elementary and high school students participated in Student Vote Alberta, coinciding with the 2023 provincial election.

After learning about government and democracy, researching the parties and platforms, and debating the future of the province, students cast their ballots for the official candidates running in their school’s electoral division.

In total, 178,675 total votes have been reported from 1,167 schools, with results from all 87 electoral divisions.

  • The NDP took 42% of the popular vote and won 48 seats, forming a majority government. Rachel Notley won her seat in Edmonton-Strathcona.
  • The UCP will form the official opposition with 38 seats. The UCP won 40% of the popular vote. Danielle Smith won her seat in Brooks-Medicine Hat.
  • No other parties won seats, but Independent candidate Funky Banjoko was elected in Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo.
  • The Green Party received 6.6% of the popular vote. Jordan Wilkie lost his seat in Edmonton-Rutherford.
  • The Alberta Party received 2.3% of the popular vote. Barry Morishita lost his seat in Brooks-Medicine Hat.
  • The Solidarity Movement of Alberta received 2.3% of the popular vote. Artur Pawlowski lost his seat in Calgary-Elbow.