BC Conservative Party

Party Leader: Scott Anderson (Interim Leader)
Founded: 1903
Current Number of Seats: 0


The British Columbia Conservative Party first formed the government in 1903 when Premier Sir Richard McBride introduced political parties to the province. The party won a majority in the 1903 election.

The party held power under McBride, and later William John Bowser, until they were defeated by the Liberals during the 1916 election. The party returned to power in 1928 under Premier Simon Fraser Tolmie.

The party won 12 seats during the 1941 election, and helped form the Liberal-Conservative coalition that was in power until 1951 under Liberal Premier Byron Johnson.

The Social Credit Party won the 1953 election, and the Conservatives were left with only one seat in the legislature. The party had no representation in the legislature between 1956 and 1972.

The party nominated seven candidates in 2005 and 24 candidates in 2009; none were elected. The Conservatives won one seat in the 2005 BC Student Vote. John Cummins was chosen as leader in 2011.

In March 2012, Abbotsford South MLA John van Dongen left the BC Liberals to join the Conservatives, becoming the party’s first elected representative since 1986. In September 2012, van Dongen left the party to sit as an independent.

In September 2012, John van Dongen switched to independent status after the re-election of John Cummins as leader of the BC Conservative Party.

During the 2013 provincial election, the party failed to capture any seats and received 4.8 per cent of the popular vote. The BC Conservatives received 8.6 per cent of the popular vote during the 2013 BC Student Vote.

On July 18, 2013, John Cummins resigned as the party leader.

On April 12, 2014, Dan Brooks was elected the new leader of the party. However, Brooks resigned at the party’s Annual General Meeting on February 20, 2016.

Brooks ran again for the leadership in September 2016 and won. However, the party’s board decided to remove him after ruling there was “no quorum at the meeting” that approved his candidacy.

The party contested the 2017 provincial election without a party leader and ran ten candidates. The party did not win any seats and received 0.53% of popular vote.

On October 4, 2017, the party’s board of directors unanimously elected Scott Anderson as the party’s new interim leader.