BC Marijuana Party

Party Leader: Marc Emery
Founded: 2000
Current Number of Seats: 0
Website: N/A


The BC Marijuana Party (BCMP) was formed in 2000 by Marc Emery. The party advocates for the legalization of marijuana.

The party, then led by Brian Taylor, made provincial history by fielding candidates in every riding during their first election campaign in 2001. The BCMP was excluded from the televised leaders’ debate, despite having more candidates than the Green Party and the Unity Party (who were both included). The party captured 51,206 votes, or 3.22 per cent of the popular vote.

Dana Larsen became leader after the election, and Emery became leader in 2003. Emery remains leader, party president, and chief organizer despite being incarcerated in the United States from 2009 to 2014.

The party fielded 44 candidates in 2005 and obtained 0.64 per cent of the popular vote.

The party only ran two candidates in 2009, but endorsed Green Party candidates in every riding across the province.

The party ran two candidates during the 2013 provincial election. The party did not win any seats and received 0.04 per cent of the popular vote.

The party did not run any candidates during the 2017 provincial election.