Party Leader: John Horgan
Founded: 1933
Current Number of Seats: 41


The BC NDP was founded in 1933 and has formed government three times: in 1972, 1991 and 1996. The party currently has 35 seats in the legislature and is the Official Opposition.

The party is affiliated with the federal NDP. The party, like the federal NDP, evolved from the socialist Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF).  The BC CCF formed the Official Opposition after the 1933 provincial election. The CCF became the NDP in 1961.

The party first won power in 1972 under leader Dave Barrett, defeating the Social Credit Party. The Social Credit Party returned to power in 1975. Barrett stepped down as the leader in 1983.

The NDP returned to power in 1991 with leader Mike Harcourt, defeating the Social Credit Party again. Harcourt resigned in 1996 and was replaced by Glen Clark. The NDP was re-elected later that year.

Clark resigned in 1999 and was replaced by Dan Miller on an interim basis. Ujjal Dosanjh was elected leader in 2000, becoming Canada’s first Indo-Canadian provincial leader.

The Liberal Party defeated the NDP in 2001, and Dosanjh resigned after losing his own seat. The party became the Official Opposition but retained only two seats in the legislature.

Carole James became the party leader in 2003 and won 33 seats in 2005. The party won 35 seats in 2009, capturing 42 percent of the popular vote. The BC NDP won the 2009 B.C. Student Vote with 47 seats.

James stepped down as the leader in 2010 and Adrian Dix became the party leader in 2011.

During the 2013 provincial election, the NDP won 39.5 percent of the popular vote, giving them 33 seats in the legislature. 

In contrast, the BC NDP won the Student Vote B.C. 2013. The party won 38.5 percent of the popular vote and 53 seats in the legislature.

In September 2013, Dix announced his resignation as party leader. During the party leadership convention in 2014, John Horgan became the party’s new leader.

The BC NDP under John Horgan’s leadership successfully captured 41 seats during the 2017 provincial election.Post-election, the party formed a minority government with the support of the BC Green party.

In the Student Vote B.C. 2017 results, the BC NDP won 60 seats and 39% of the popular vote.