New Brunswick New Democratic Party

Party Leader: Jennifer McKenzie
Founded: 1933
Current Number of Seats: 0


The New Brunswick New Democratic Party was founded as a branch of the CCF (Co-operative Commonwealth Federation) in New Brunswick in 1933. The CCF popularity grew nationally during 1940`s when the party became the official opposition in Ontario in 1943 and formed the first socialist government in Saskatchewan with Tommy Douglas as Premier in 1944. The party popularity declined post-war and the New Democratic Party eventually replaced the CCF in 1963.

The New Brunswick NDP`s first major breakthrough in provincial politics came during the 1982 election when the party won its first-ever seat in the riding of Tantramar under the leadership of George Little.

The party ran a full slate of candidates during the 1987 election; however, the party did not win any seats.

Post-election, Little stepped down as the party leader in 1988 and was replaced by Robert Hall as the interim leader.

During the leadership convention held in June 1988, Elizabeth Weir was elected as the new party leader.

During the 1991 provincial election, Weir won a seat in Saint John South, becoming the first provincial NDP leader elected to the legislature. Weir was re-elected again during the 1995, 1999 and 2003 provincial elections.

Despite being re-elected many times, Weir and the New Brunswick NDP failed to make any significant progress in New Brunswick’s political system and in 2004, Weir decided to step down as the party leader.

After Weir`s departure, the party’s popularity continued to decline. The party did not win any candidates during the 2006 and 2010 provincial election.

During the 2014 provincial election, the party under Dominic Cardy received 13 per cent of the vote, however, it failed to win any seats. Post-election, Cardy stepped down as the party leader on January 1, 2017.

On August 10, 2017, Jennifer McKenzie was acclaimed as the party leader.