The Results

On October 13 and 14, students took on the roles of election officials and hosted a Student Vote Day where students voted for mayors, councillors and school board members.

Their vote followed a series of instruction and activities focused on government and the electoral process, research into the candidates and issues, as well as dialogue with family and friends.

Based on current tallies, more than 13,000 students participated from 112 schools in 32 municipalities.



Here’s a quick summary of who elementary and secondary students elected as mayor in their municipality:

  • Town of Amherst: George Baker
  • Town of Antigonish: Sean Cameron
  • Town of Bridgewater: David Walker
  • Town of Kentville: Sandra Snow
  • Town of Lockeport: Howard Roszel
  • Town of Middleton: Dan Smith
  • Town of New Glasgow: Henderson Paris
  • Town of Pictou: Jim Ryan
  • Town of Shelburne: Karen Mattatall
  • Town of Stellarton: Danny MacGillivray
  • Town of Stewiacke: Wendy Robinson
  • Town of Truro: Bill Mills
  • Town of Westville: Roger Mackay
  • Cape Breton Regional Municipality: Cecil Clarke
  • County of Colchester: Bob Taylor
  • Halifax Regional Municipality: Mike Savage
  • County of Kings: Peter Muttart / Dick Killam (tie)
  • District of Lunenburg: Tom Lockwood
  • Region of Queens Municipality: Christopher Clarke