The Results

On October 25, students took on the roles of election officials and hosted a Student Vote Day where students voted for mayors/reeves, councillors and school board members.

Their vote followed a series of instruction and activities focused on government and the electoral process, research into the candidates and issues, as well as dialogue with family and friends.

Based on current tallies, more than 12,000 students participated from 169 schools in 58 municipalities.



Here’s a quick summary of who elementary and secondary students elected as mayor in their municipality:

  • City of Estevan: Roy Ludwig
  • City of Humboldt: Rob Muench
  • City of Melfort: Nicole Gagné
  • City of Melville: Richard Goebel and Walter Streelasky (tie)
  • City of Moose Jaw: Fraser Tolmie
  • City of Prince Albert: Josh Morrow
  • City of Regina: Michael Fougere
  • City of Saskatoon: Donald Atchison
  • City of Swift Current: Denis Perrault
  • City of Warman: Sheryl Spence
  • City of Yorkton: Bob Maloney
  • Northern Town of La Ronge: Joe Hordyski
  • Northern Village of Air Ronge: Gordon Stomp
  • Northern Village of Île-à-la-Crosse: Duane Favel
  • Northern Village of Buffalo Narrows: Candice Evans-Waite
  • Northern Village of Cumberland House: Kelvin McKay
  • Rural Municipality of Calder: Roy Derworiz
  • Rural Municipality of Francis: Jim Vogt
  • Rural Municipality of Prince Albert: Eugene Matwishyn
  • Rural Municipality of South Qu’Appelle: Jeannie DesRochers and Kenneth McPherson (tie)
  • Town of Alameda: Mike Warner
  • Town of Arcola: Keith Erick
  • Town of Canora: Gina Rakochy
  • Town of Dalmeny: Jonathan Kroeker
  • Town of Duck Lake: Jason Anderson
  • Town of Fort Qu’Appelle: Jerry Whiting
  • Town of Gravelbourg: Daniel Lamarre
  • Town of Hague: Patricia M. Wagner
  • Town of Indian Head: Steven Cole
  • Town of Ituna: Doug Scully
  • Town of Lashburn: Steven Turnbull
  • Town of Nipawin: Terry Farden
  • Village of Archerwill: Kevin Prevost
  • Village of Borden: Jamie Brandrick
  • Village of Christopher Lake: Victor Timm
  • Village of Eyebrow: Orlando Bueckert
  • Village of Plenty: Robert Weese
  • Village of White Fox: Brian Lane