After learning about municipal government and the election process, exploring the issues and candidates, and discussing the election with family and friends, students cast ballots for their municipal council.

Based on current tallies, nearly 10,000 ballots were cast by student participants from 90 schools, representing 22 municipalities.



  • Office of Mayor summary: Throughout the province, students elected the following candidates for mayor: 
    • Halifax Regional Municipality: Mike Savage
    • Cape Breton Regional Municipality: Amanda McDougall
    • Town of Antigonish: Laurie Boucher (acclaimed)
    • Town of Bridgewater: David Mitchell (acclaimed)
    • Town of Clark’s Harbour: Rex Stoddard
    • County of Colchester: Bob Taylor
    • County of Cumberland: Jason Blanch
    • County of Kings: Peter Muttart
    • District of Lunenburg: Caleb Wheeldon
    • Town of Lunenburg: Matt Risser
    • Town of Pictou: Jim Ryan
    • Region of Queens Municipality: Darlene Norman
    • Town of Stellarton: Darren Stroud
    • Town of Truro: Terry Baillie / Bill Mills (tie)

The complete results can be found at: